Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Old biker, new NT owner

2017 Miles:
    My Gallery

Old biker, new NT owner

Hi,

I'm a retired mechanical engineer. Been biking since my teens; started out on a CT70H, actually took my MC driver's test on it. Moved up to a '70 CL350. After graduating from college, I traded up to my then dream bike, a '72 CB500. Put a Windjammer, rack and trunk on it and did a fair bit of traveling on it. Eventually, as has happened to many others, marriage and family took priority over riding. About 15 years ago, I got back into riding, bought a low mileage '78 Suzuki GS750. But other things again took priority, and the Suzuki has been sitting in the shed ever since. Recently got the itch again, and not wanting to deal with the issues I suspect the Suzuki will present, I started looking for something without carburetors, etc. Found a '10 NT700 on eBay. Description sounded good, pictures looked good, and honest, with some scratches and peeling decals, so I took a chance. I've never bought a vehicle sight unseen before, but I did it this time. Including shipping cost, I got it for about 2/3 of what NADA Guides says it's worth. It was just delivered this evening, and so far, everything looks good. Will check it out carefully this weekend and tackle registration on Monday.

I found a GS owners' forum when I was playing with the Suzuki; I found it to be an interesting, helpful, and often entertaining site. I've been browsing on this site for a few days now, and have already picked up a few tips. I fully expect you folks to be as friendly, helpful, and entertaining, if not more so, as the Suzuki site was.

Lynn B.

My Gallery

Re: Old biker, new NT owner

Welcome along from us in Australia. I am sure you will love the bike like most of us do.

Seagrass
    Current Bikes owned 2007 NT700V, 1982 Honda CX500-TC (Turbo)
    NT700 Only

2017 Miles:
    My Gallery