[Review] Healtech GIPRO DS Gear indicator installed

Bike
2010 RED NT700V
Wow, I did a nice farkle today after reading some other posts about it. I installed the Healtech GIpro DS gear indicator (GPDS-H01). It was fairly easy -- otherwise I wouldn't have been able to do it.

Thanks to Katherine and others, I was able to locate the DLC connector on the left side in front of the battery. It was covered with black electrical tape and had a red cap on it. I cut the tape to free the connector, removed the cap, and the unit plugged right in. I pondered where to put it, and finally decided to place it right in the middle of the gauge cluster. Just for the heck of it, I followed the instructions in the NT owner's manual to remove the left fairing pocket so I could route the wire through there and not have it hanging down where you can see it, and also not have to worry about it rubbing anything as the handlebars are turned back and forth. I'm still new to the NT, so I thought it would be good practice for me to remove some of the tupperware anyway. I also dremeled a little slot in the dash trim for the wire. The trim can be bent away from the "glass" far enough to slip the unit up from behind. Following the instructions that came with the unit, it took just a couple minutes to have it "learn" the gears. In the end, it was a pretty clean install, and I like it. It takes only a fraction of a second to display the gear after shifting. The only minor downside is that since Honda motorcycles don't provide a gear position sensor, it will only show the gear when the engine is running and the clutch is released. Still, it's pretty cool. And it works.

In some of the pictures, it looks off-center, but that's only because the reflection of my shirt made the picture look funny if I took it straight on. When sitting on the bike, it is actually dead center between the two buttons, as you can see in the 2nd picture. Looks great if I do say so myself.

Rob

Bike
2010 Silver NT700V