Bias Vs Radial application

Bike
2010 Red NT700
I have watched a good video from Michelin explaining the differing properties of Radial vs Bias tires, yet I still dont understand when to buy what
Why do we run bias on "Dual Purpose" bikes, a la GS's and VStroms etc and Radials on NTs and other street bikes?

I wanted to buy a dual purpose tire but due to my own ignorance about tire applications, I was afraid to pull the trigger on one

Is there any one here who really understands tires and can give an unbiased view on it for a layperson?

I'm not a tire expert but generally speaking radials are softer so offer a nicer ride which is one reason car companies went to radials long ago. Bias ply tires have a stiffer carcass than radials so may be better in an off-road environment. The original idea of plies being laid on the "bias" or "radially" is no longer entirely true as it's possible to have a radial tire with plies on a slight bias (for additional stiffness) and conversely, some bias ply tires have plies closer to radial so the tire type name has become somewhat moot.

The Michelin tires fitted on Renaults and other small cars in the 1960s were true radials because they always looked like they were flat!

Last edited:
I think DirtFlier has it right in his response. If in doubt put on the type of tire the manufacture recommends.

My question wasn't that: the question is : why one kind on one type of bike and one kind on another ?

Bias Ply tires have a stiffer side wall so you are less likely to bottom out on the rim when off road riding which is why they are specified on adventure and off road bikes. The Radial tire has a flexible sidewall which allows a road bike to have improved cornering by increasing the tire contact patch.