Blue Ridge Parkway - top (VA) to Asheville, NC and back

Bike
2010 Red NT700V
Hi Folks,
On Saturday morning I started riding the Blue Ridge Parkway from the top (Afton Mountain, VA) with the intent of riding all the way to Cherokee, NC, the southern terminus.
brp6.jpeg

I had my tent and dry bag strapped down with Roc straps and was ready for a good long ride. Beautiful weather, cool and sunny.

brp_5.jpeg

brp_4.jpeg

There wasn't much traffic, so I settled into that blissful steady riding at 45-55 mph, running through the turns at speed, scraping my boot sides on occasion. The NT just purrs along at 3500-4000 rpm with such great torque that you can ride in 5th gear almost continuously.

I made it to milepost 239 by mid afternoon and camped out in the Doughton, NC campground. There were a couple of other motorcyclists camping there and we told long stories of our exploits. Both were on Triumphs, one a twin retro (even has fake carbs), one a three cylinder ADV style.

The next day (Sunday) I headed south intending to get all the way to the end (Cherokee, NC), but everyone in NC and their cousins were on the BRP that day. I spent most of my time passing Subaru Foresters going 10 under. Slow going, and not very blissful. But the scenery was great. In NC, you are riding more on a plateau than in VA, so there are farms right along side the road. I kept climbing until I got to the highest point on the East Coast in Pisgah State Forest.

brp2.jpeg

brp1.jpeg

I was just north of Asheville by around 1pm, having passed the highest point on the East Coast (around 5000 feet - not much for Westerners) and decided I had to turn around to make it back to Doughton to my campsite. Traffic got even heavier, and I was passing cars constantly. I'd get clean air in front of me for a mile or so, then come up on another Subaru doing 10 under. Argg... My advice, don't ride on the BRP during the weekend.