Front Brakes: Single Disc VS Dual Discs

Bud

Everything I've read about the brakes on the NT700V has been very positive. When Honda designed the brakes for it I think they did a very good job. The front brake on the NC700X is a single disc brake. I am not an engineer and don't know a great deal about brakes, but I feel a bike with duel discs front brakes has more stopping power than a bike with single disc front brakes. Do any of you have any thoughts you would like to share with me on this?
Bud

MaggieMan

Re: Front Brakes: Single Disc VS Duel Discs

but I feel a bike with duel discs front brakes has more stopping power than a bike with single disc front brakes.
Bud
I'm not an engineer, a designer or even a very good mechanic, so my opinion is worth exactly what I charge for it! You are right ... in a sense. A braking system transforms the wheels rotational energy and hence forward momentum of the bike by turning it into heat through friction. Brakes fade with excess heat. Do a lot of extreme braking in a short time and the heat builds up and the brakes fade more and more.

The advantage of a dual disc system is with (presumably) both brakes doing equal work, each only needs to generate 1/2 the heat that an, all things being equal, single disc system would. So in that sense, no, a dual-disc system won't have "more stopping power" than an equivalent single-disc system, but it will be much less prone to brake fade.

There is, generally, a weight and price penalty for dual-disc systems too, as you need two of everything, even though a dual-disc systems components are somewhat smaller than an equivalent single disc. However, there is also the safety redundancy if one disc should fail.

Scott

JQL

Growing old disgracefully
Bike
2010 NT700 & 2019 FJR1300
There is also the weight issue. The lighter the vehicle the smaller the brakes need to be to have the same effect.

RedLdr1

Site Supporter