Fuze Block Gone Wrong

idevourcows

I'll open by telling you guys that I have no experience or skill with electrical work. I want to install a charger for my iPhone and an Autocom system (neither of which seemed like a big deal). After reading lots of posts here I decided that I should install a Fuzeblock now, when a little extra work would pay off in a lot of future-proofing. I read every post I could find here on the subject, went from ignorant to confidant to befuddled to determined, and decided to start.

I tore the bike down and thought I had the Fuzeblock installed, but couldn't get the charger to work running from the Fuzeblock ? whether set up as switched or constant. After messing with this most of the afternoon, I took the Fuzeblock back out and put everything back together the way I found it. I'm going to regroup and try again next weekend.

Here are some questions:

1) Fuse between the FZ-1 and the battery. What spec fuse should I use, and are there any special considerations for the way to install this? I saw some mention of a circuit breaker. Is this substantially better ? if so, what type is appropriate and are there any special considerations for the installation of this?

2) Switched power. *sigh* Conceptually I get this, but I have had a hard time interpreting the pictures here to figure out *which* wire is the tail light wire. Ultimately, I pulled one of the tail lights out of the housing and tapped the red wire leading into it using a posi-tap. Is this a reasonable approach?

I'm pretty sure that the switched power line wasn't the problem since the charger wasn't working with the fuse (on the FZ-1) in the constant power position either. Right now, my plan is to get my hands on the basic wiring book recommended in another thread and get my hands on a multi-meter so I can try to determine where the problem is. Ultimately, I really want to learn to do this myself and not have to break down and pay someone else to do it for me.

Bear

Bike