GL1000 project bike

rcase13

I am just getting started doing research on a project bike. I would like to get my hands dirty and try and restore an old bike. I would like it to be a Honda as I am pretty partial to Honda. There are a lot of Honda fans on this forum and I thought I would start by asking other Honda fans. I am thinking about a GL1000 Gold Wing. I want one of the early naked bikes without all the plastic bits. Or maybe a CB500/550. What am I getting into? Are parts easy to get for old 70's bikes? I am an average mechanic but willing to try anything. Do you think this is too much to take on? Any advice good or bad would be appreciated. Once I decide what bike I will start posting in those forums. I see a lot of classic Honda's in profiles so I figure there must be others that have gone down this path and have some advice. Bikes to stay away from etc.

RedLdr1

Site Supporter
I think the GL1000 would be a good project bike as far as parts availability and even collectible status for a later sale. Plus I still see relatively low mileage, 30-40K miles, running examples for sale. If I was going to restore a Honda I would consider either a late model CBX or early CB750. The right CB1100F just might catch my attention as well..:D

As far as what are you getting in to based on my experience with restoring a few old Mustangs and my 1980 Corvette it is a lot of fun restoring old iron. It can be challenging finding the "right" vehicle to start with, finding the "right" parts and can be very expensive. Depending on what you farm out, paint, motor rebuild, etc you can spend a lot of money...very quickly. I personally enjoy hunting down the parts, going out in the garage and working on old iron, and seeing the vehicle "come back" is cheap therapy for me.