Goretex questions

Bike
2010 Red NT700
Im thinking about dropping some serious coin on some high end gear. Does anyone have experience with Goretex laminate jackets? Pros/Cons?

Does it have to be maintained? Do you have to re-apply something annually?

I'm looking at Klim Carlsbad and the Klim Latitude

Last edited:

Phil Tarman

Site Supporter
Bike
2010 Silver NT700VA (ABS)
Hey, there! I have no experience with Klim gear, but I've had Aerostitch suits. Right now, I'm wearing an R3 1-piece suit. It does have to be maintained a little bit:

"To help your suit work best after long use and multiple launderings, use a wash-in repellant like Nikwax® or a spray for the exterior of your suit with Scotchgard® or a similar waterproofing preparation. For most high-mileage riders, an entire can of one of these products applied every year or two will prevent water from saturating the outer fabric and help your suit wear drier, lighter, and more breathable during wet conditions."

Back when I had the standard Roadcrafter, the only time I ever got wet was when I was wearing it will the underarm and hip zippers undone and we were riding in about a 30-35mph direct crosswind and a very hard rain. Before we stopped to get out of the rain, my right underarm and right hip were wet. Before I could change out of my underwear and t-shirt, the rain had pretty well spread all over me. A lot or people used to complain about the crotch zipper leaking, but mine never did.

Fieroguy

Site Supporter
Bike
2010 Silver NT700