Handlebar Clamp with Power

Dav101

Just some really basic questions that I wanted to ask before I ordered Motorcycle Larry's powered handlebar clamp.

Since it is made for the NT700V - I guess the wiring is long enough to reach the battery? How much extra slack do most people find? Is it tight running the wires under the plastic to the battery? Has anyone performed a miracle and ran the wires with out too much bike disassembly?

Is there an inline fuse on the power wire? If so, what size? If not, WHY NOT? :tongue:

I have never used the powerlet socket before. Is there a maximum rating it is capable for?

I plan to use a powerlet/mini usb adapter for my GPS and a powerlet/SAE adapter for a battery tender for convienance sake.

It sure would be neat if there exists a mini "Y" adapter that split the mini usb plug into 2 so I could keep my phone charged while using the GPS during long rides with out having to run another seperate wire back to the battery for the phone. Do you think a little Garmin 330 and a cell phone might be too much sharing the powerlet's power?

Besides the GPS and conveinance of charging the phone the only other power draw I would have is for a gerbing heated vest and glove combination which I have always assumed I would make a direct connection to the battery for. And the heated stuff would be used infrequently.

I am kind of eyeballing the little 2 hole "vent?" in front of the left saddle bag to hide the female connector for that gerbing socket, as it would be a super easy farkle. I'm thinking if I forget to unplug before I get off the bike the connection will seperate easily enough and not land me on my posterior. :redface: :rofl1:

These are my only electrical needs. If my little gps and phone can share that one power wire from the powerlet, I am good to go. Or am I not?:frown:

Dave - 101

Last edited by a moderator:
Bike
2013 FJR 1300