I finally bought a good bike

Bike
2010 Red NT700
Due to some circulation issues in my left leg I started riding in 2020. I ride 7-10 miles each outing, 3-6 times a week around town. I have ridden up to 20 on occasion, but not often. I started on a Scwhinn Hybrid the wife got on Amazon. It was a decent ride but was becoming janky and I didn't want to put any more $ into it.

But yesterday I picked up a Trek Verve2 Disc Low Step. (comfort hybrid...jack of all trades, master of none) Its much easier to ride and has hydraulic disc brakes, 24 gears etc.
It's a bit faster then the Schwinn

trek-verve-2-disc-low-step-367504-1-12-2.jpg

junglejim

Site Supporter
Bike
Tiger 800, NT sold
Glad you like it. Exercise is a LOT easier to do if you're having fun. Go different places and see different things.

I ride most every day, but almost never on the road. After way too many close calls with cars I stick to the woods trails. I take my chances with the rocks, roots, ruts, briars, bears, and ticks etc.
I ride a mountain bike this -Screenshot 2023-06-05 at 4.18.49 PM.png

And a Fat bike like this one -

Screenshot 2023-06-05 at 4.23.02 PM.png

There are a lot of other bike riders on this forum. Maybe two wheels is just part of who we are. Another form of having fun on two wheels without gasoline.

mikesim

Site Supporter
Bike
NT700, Red, #989,
I have had a Trek mountain bike since 1984. It is well made and has performed faithfully. My right knee finally forced me to stick to powered two wheelers so I gave it to my son who is now enjoying it.

Mike

Last edited:
OP
OP
RedNigel
Bike
2010 Red NT700
I live in Richardson, TX. We have many bike lanes and bike paths, so its easy to stay safe here. If a rider puts a little thought into their route he can stay pretty much out of the way with few major street crossings
Richardson is about 28 sq miles with about 120K population
39 Parks = 864 acres with 87 miles of walking/bike trails

mikesim

Site Supporter
Bike
NT700, Red, #989,