Installed The Trunk Today

Neil-OKC

So I decided that $150.00 was way top much to pay the dealer to install my new trunk.

Got it home and opened the boxes. Sure was alot of nuts and bolts and washers.

Took out the instructions and read through them once. Didn't seem like was such a hard job to do(turns out it wasn't).

Not sure if my album will show up but I uploaded some pics of the process. One thing I was worried about at the end was I had a ton of left over parts. I am guessing this is normal and this trunk mounting system is used on more then just the NT.

Was fairly painless and took me about 3 hours only because I took my dear sweet time and checked a few things under the seat and what not. Wanted to get to know my NT better so took that time to look around alot.

The instructions that came with the mounting system were very easy to follow. Though I am an Electronic Tech by trade so these were extremely low level written. Meaning someone with very limited mechanical knowledge should not have to much problem doing it themselves.

Also for the 2 holes you need to drill for the rear plate, I just used a 3/8" drill bit then dremeled it out to the correct size. This was much easier and cleaner then trying to find a keyhole drill bit the correct size.

All in all I am very happy with the end result. Also as you cna see a fullface helmet will fit inside. Mine is a HJC Sy-Max II and takes up alot of room but fits quite nicely.

Can check the pictures at http://www.nt-owners.org/forums/album.php?albumid=154

Last edited by a moderator:
Bike
Red NT700V 2010, #1004.
I have found the top trunk to be my favorite and most used farkle. Using it daily on commute to work, for lunch, jacket, gloves, helmet, saves wear and tear on the side bag closures, that many seem to have problems with. Next best farkles are the Rox Risers and seat re-foam job. I have had my NT 14 months now, and I like her better every day.