New to riding, looking at NT700V as my second bike

kezug

Hi,

I am new to riding at 51 years old. I took the MSF in April, got a used Honda Rebel 250 which I love but is just too small physically for me. Not terribly small but long rides (an hour or more) and my butt is achy and my legs are cramped a little. I am 5'10 with 32" inseam and 200lbs. I have put in about 1000 miles on the Rebel and another 100 on a Vulcan 500. I find the Vulcan nice to ride in terms of power and weight, but I really am not sure I like other things on the Vulcan. (the placement of the odometer, the peg position, the handlebars)

I am researching heavily and have been considering many bikes ranging from Shadow RS, to ST1300, to Rebel 500 or 1100, and my research has lead me to an NT700V. It seems to hit all the marks, has some luggage, not too much power, not too heavy. It seems ideal for longer hauls. My style of riding appears to be in town, back roads, rolling roads, twisties, country roads, and may be some bigger roads for short stretches at 55/60mph. I am not ready for faster or major highways for long durations but I may venture out and do an all day trip or even a 2 day trip somewhere, but it doesnt have to be far, just a lot of riding.

So, I have questions:
1. being that this is a european model, is it hard to fix/get parts/sell?
2. is the basic maintenance all doable by someone who already can do basic maintenance such as oil changes, brake fluid changes, etc?
3. seems one of the biggest gripes is the luggage closure latches that can be troublesome, but seems a latch should be modifiable and fixable if one does trouble me?
4. seems people complain of lack of power, but for me and my recent venture, this cant be something that I will be troubled by, can it (again, I am not looking to go 80mph on large highways for cross country touring)
5. what should I also know about this bike before I really go further into wanting it?
6. Are there certain years to avoid and why?

Phil Tarman