Pannier idea

Moto-Kafe

Site Supporter
Bike
2010 Red NT700V
"........and use a 40 liter roll-top, top loading, waterproof duffel on each side .......".
What brand/model..........????

RedLdr1

Site Supporter
Those first hand-held digital calculators were nearly $300 when they were introduced in the 70s. Now you can buy one with more calculating power for under $10! :)
I remember those quite well. In 1972 I retired my slip stick and bought a basic APF four function, plus a % key, calculator to use in electronics engineering school. As a lowly E-2 it cost me a months pay for that calculator. :oops: I have since seen better calculators used as a give away in a cereal box.🙄 I retired it in 1975 when as a rich E-4 I bought my first TI programmable calculator for about two months pay...at PX prices.

Now I just use a free app on my Google Pixel 6....

Frosty

Site Supporter
Bike
2020 Triumph 900GT
I was a student in a work/study program with General Motors (Central Foundry Div) 1966- 1971. We were assigned to various parts of the foundry during our plant periods. I had many hours behind those mechanical calculators. Banging on a stop key when you made a division/ per cent calc error to prevent it from grinding on and having to fix the jam.

While passing through the front offices, the purchasing head motioned me into his office. He had a 110v calculator. He was very excited. It could divide and multiply as well as add, subtract. He said these were going to save us lots of time and he ordered an initial dozen for only $120 each. I asked if I could have that one. He said NO.

1658858570953.png

DIV STOP key - Sometimes it did, sometimes not. Good times!
1658858865113.png

mikesim

Site Supporter
Bike
NT700, Red, #989,
Did you ever look inside one of those mechanical beasties? It looked more like a watchmaker's nightmare vs a calculator as we now know them. According to my Dad, they were horrendously expensive to fix if they broke.

Mike

Bike
2010 NT700V