Riding Jacket over Heated Jacket

bravo20

I'm new to the heated clothing,never had any. Can you wear a Motorcycle Jacket with Liner over a heated Jacket,which would be over a regular Shirt?
Wow can't believe that thats all in one sentence.
Like I said new to the heated gear,so no laughter.
Thanks an advance.
David

bicyclist

Well, you need to put it on and see what fits. If by "jacket" you mean a heated liner, they're usually not very bulky and will fit under your normal riding gear. The usual layering scheme is shirt, heated liner, then outer layers. You want the liner closer to your body for best performance. If you feel like the Bibb man, take the liner out of your motorcycle jacket, maybe substituting something thinner. As Chris said, pay attention to rain protection if the motorcycle jacket liner is the waterproofing.

You'll love the heated gear. Makes a huge difference in cold weather.

edit: A heat controller is very worthwhile if you don't have one. Much more convenient than having to constantly operate a switch.

Last edited by a moderator:

Phil Tarman

Site Supporter
Bike
2010 Silver NT700VA (ABS)
What George said! I've got some gear that I do wear with the liner over my heated jacket and some that I leave the liner out of. It all depends...

:)

elizilla

What they said. I will recommend a long sleeve t-shirt or a turtleneck under the heated jacket, and insulating/armored layers over the heated jacket.

The heated jacket is best if it's close to your skin but not directly touching your skin.