Transmission Questions

Bike
2010 Silver NT700 ABS
Hey guys, since I am new to motorcycles I might be asking a dumb question but on my NT I have 1 thing that doesnt seem to be right with the transmission.

When I put the transmission in Neutral coming to a stop or at a stop sometimes it wont come out of neutral, I can press down for first and it doesnt engage and just come back to neutral, pulling up for second doesnt do anything either, I have to release the clutch and then pull it in and try again. It doesnt happen that frequently, but more so when I have been riding for awhile. Also first and second gear engagements while moving are quite a bit more harsh sounding sometimes as well.

Is this normal? I have a month left of warranty. So if I need to take it in I need to do it soon.

DirtFlier

Site Supporter
Bike
2010 Silver NT700V/ABS
Paul stated it correctly. The engagement dogs in the transmission are not aligned and merely rolling the bike a tiny
amount, either forward or back, helps greatly. I'd see this a lot in classes when a student would stomp on the shifter
repeatedly thinking that more force was required.

OP
OP
schwartz
Bike
2010 Silver NT700 ABS
Paul stated it correctly. The engagement dogs in the transmission are not aligned and merely rolling the bike a tiny
amount, either forward or back, helps greatly. I'd see this a lot in classes when a student would stomp on the shifter
repeatedly thinking that more force was required.
Well stomping on a mechanical object that has 1500 miles on it seems very logical way to make it work /scarcasm

Bike
75 Honda CB360/Buell P3
Also make sure the rpm's aren't too high when trying to shift into low gears as the engagement dogs can round off because of the speed of the gears.

Bike
2010 Red NT 700
Might work better to stay out of neutral unless you're putting it away for the day. When coming to a stop just shift into first and hold the clutch. That's what I do and can't ever recall a shifting into first problem.

OP