96 Gold Wing with 87K miles?

Feel free to tell me if I'm completely crazy, but I'm considering buying a 96 Wing with 87K miles for say $3000. I haven't seen it in person, yet. Looks fair and *assuming* it has been maintained, I may buy it. The wood panel trim strikes me as something I saw on The Brady Bunch station wagon, but being more about the ride than appearance, I am still considering it. Be honest, throw me under the bus (or The Brady station wagon) if I'm not thinking straight. I would love to spend double that amount and get a 2001 Wing or newer, but not wanting to go into debt. I'm just really wanting that extra comfort, to take some really extended rides.

Attachments

Phil Tarman

Site Supporter
Bike
2010 Silver NT700VA (ABS)
A friend of mine had a '95 (it was red :cool:, which you might like a bit better) and it was a great bike. He and his wife rode it many miles and pulled a trailer a few times. He and I took a couple of long trips together after I started riding on my '83 Silverwing, and then after I got my '99 Concours. We did our first Saddle Sore 1000s together in September of '99. I don't think he ever had any trouble with it. I wish I could remember how many miles it had on it. The 1500s weren't quite as sporty as the 1800 were, but Jim could hustle it right on down the road and did well in the mountains on it.

mikesim

Site Supporter
Bike
NT700, Red, #989,
That isn't many miles for a 'Wing and if was maintained well there should be a lot of miles left in the old gal. I would try to find out if the timing belt has been replaced and when. If it hasn't then that is something that you'll want to do pretty quickly. Keep in mind that she's 25 years old and a lot of the rubber bits are probably dried and a bit brittle so don't expect maintenance free. For $3K though you can afford a bit of TLC and have a comfortable bike for many, many more miles.

Mike

Bike
2020 Kawasaki Versys