A Tire Size Question

Phil Tarman

Site Supporter
Bike
2010 Silver NT700VA (ABS)
I'm not needing tires yet but just thinking ahead. I'm interested in the Dunlop Road Smart 4s and the Conti RoadAttack4 Hyper-Touring tire and I'm noticing that neither of them come in a 150/70 X 17. The smallest rear tires they show are 160/60 X 17.

Will 160s fit an NT? And will a 60 series tire throw speedometer/odometer readings off. With the 150/70 X 17 both readings are more accurate than any vehicle I've ever owned. I'd hate to lose that accuracy.

Bike
2010 Red NT700V
No experience with the Road Attack 4's, but I have been using the Road Attack 3's for a couple years now on my NT, they are available in both correct front and rear sizes for the NT and they work great, good handling dry and wet, and good tire life.

mikesim

Site Supporter
Bike
NT700, Red, #989,
The 160's will fit but you will lose accuracy.... just a wee bit..... about 1.5mph at 70...

Mike

Reactions: ett
Bike
Honda CBR 600F-2/NT700V
I'm not needing tires yet but just thinking ahead. I'm interested in the Dunlop Road Smart 4s and the Conti RoadAttack4 Hyper-Touring tire and I'm noticing that neither of them come in a 150/70 X 17. The smallest rear tires they show are 160/60 X 17.

Will 160s fit an NT? And will a 60 series tire throw speedometer/odometer readings off. With the 150/70 X 17 both readings are more accurate than any vehicle I've ever owned. I'd hate to lose that accuracy.
Phil I got a 160/70-17 on the rear it's a Dunlop Smart 3 I love it, handle is improved over the stock size for me, its a hair taller, speedo reads about 1.5 mph slower at 75 mph but lowers the rpm's by about 150, unfortunately for me they don't make it in the new Dunlop Smart 4 and I'm really not interested in the 160/60 tire size.

Bike
NT700V, NC700X, XL600R

Phil,