Air filter change

Bike
2011 Black NT700
I'm getting ready to change my air filter. Is one brand better than the others?
Thank you

mikesim

Site Supporter
Bike
NT700, Red, #989,
I've always used the OE Honda filters. I have no experience with any others

Bike
2010 Red NT700V
Like Mikesim I prefer to stick with the known quality and fit of "o.e.m" parts from a dealer. The Honda air filter for the NT700 is Honda SKU 17210-MEW-920. I replaced my air filter with a HifloFiltro HFA1713. IMO HifloFiltro appears to be a reputable aftermarket company. Their air filter meets or exceeds o.e.m specs, and the HifloFiltro filter on the website named after the famous South American River has the HifloFiltro for about half the $$$ of what a dealer/online wanted for an o.e.m filter. FYI, not all "Honda" parts purchased from a Honda Dealer are actually made by Honda and instead are supplied by vendors that somewhere along the distribution line put the part in a Honda bag/box. If you go for an aftermarket filter I'd absolutely without a doubt double check that the aftermarket filter is warranted to meet/exceed o.e.m specs and not just warranted to "fit and/or replace." As always, my opinion and $6 gets ya a double whooper meal at Burger King.

mikesim

Site Supporter
Bike
NT700, Red, #989,
Hiflo Filtro are quality filters. I think that they may be an OE vendor to Honda. I wouldn't hesitate to use a Hiflo Filtro product.

DirtFlier

Site Supporter
Bike
2010 Silver NT700V/ABS
Many parts on a Honda motorcycle or auto are not made by Honda, but by trusted providers. It's almost the same way with any complex product. Some of those providers may sell what appear to be the same parts to aftermarket retailers but without having to meet the Honda standards.