Air mattress comparo

Coyote Chris

Site Supporter
Bike
10 Red NT 14 FJR, 17 XT
"If you dont think a good air bed will make your camping trip better, sleep on the ground." Abraham Lincoln

Sleeping mattress comparo
Intex Walmart Twin size felt covered . 8 inches , 6-7 lbs. $8-$25
Nemo Cosmo 30 XL insulated. 3.5 inches, 2 lb 11 oz. 25-35 F. $150
Exped Megamat lite 12 LXW, 5 inches, 3 lb. 6 oz -5F, $250
Cheep 2 lb last century airmattress. In pic.
I have been using the Intex for many years now and have been very happy with it. It does have a few issues. No insulation, its heavy, and on a cold morning, its hard to roll up. Still, for the price, I got no complaints. My current one has lasted 50 nights plus with no leaks.
But I decided to try the Nemo Cosmo 30 XL insulated in my quest to dump size and weight and have been very impressed with it. (The Nemo Nomad XL, 6 in. is very comparable to the Exped in size and weight and pack size and can be found on sale for $150.) While only 3.5 inches thick, The Cosmo feels just fine and it doesn’t give you the unstable feeling that the Intex and Exped gives you. Roll instability. If you sleep on your side, and roll a bit one way or another, you will continue to roll a bit with the Intex and Exped. Not a problem with the Nemo design. If you let some air out of the Intex and Exped, it helps this a bunch. Check out the baffle directions on all three bags. This roll effect is given different names by different folks but try both matteresses side by side like I just did and it will hit you like a ton of bricks. The on board pump/pillow probably works but I always use li-ion air pumps. Very light and powerful, they last for a long time on one charge. Nemo gives you a repair kit, BTW.