Axle and Axle Nut????

Bike
19 Versys 1K SE, 14 FJR
So I thought I was a Half Decent Mechanic. I find out I am a Half *** Mechanic. As I am reviewing the post of the "Removing Rear Wheel" Thread, of Coyote Cris, I keep coming back to his picture of the torque wrench on the axle nut. Something does not sit right. His axle nut is on the right side of the bike. Hmmm? Interesting. I go and look at my axle nut. It is on the left side of the bike. Hmmm? What is wrong with this picture. I go look in the service manual and sure enough, the Axle pulls out from the left which means the nut should be on the right, (Exhaust side). My NT700 is backwards. I have ridden 2k miles with the axle in backwards. Should not make a difference but it is not correct. Now I ask, How can I make such a bad mistake? My ST1300 rear drive is the exact opposite than the NT700. I did remove the exhaust when I R&R'd the rear wheel last time, Thus I was able to slide the axle in the wrong (right) side.

All those years of working on the ST13 I have gotten the NT and ST confused. Need to finish up the ST and get it off the lift so I can redo the NT axle position. That means I have to remove the exhaust to get the axle out.

Good Grief Charlie Brown.

Mellow

Admin
2024 Mileage
Bike
21 R1250RT
Hey, I've seen professional mechanics forget to put the nut on..... This so called mistake is just one of those things that work either way and I'm sure if it was a real issue you would have caught it. It's good to know the axle works either way.

Bike
2013 Yamaha FJR1300
Because it does seem to worm both ways, I'd say leave it alone until the next scheduled wheel change.

OTOH, I probably would change it. Things, even though working well, that are not quite right, "bother" me. My wife tells me I am a little too anal for my own good. I tell her that I resemble that remark. :)

DirtFlier

Site Supporter
Bike
2010 Silver NT700V/ABS