GS500 Starter bike

Bike
2010 Silver NT700
We've been looking for a good starter bike for my wife since she took the MSF BRC a couple months ago. She's been keeping in practice in parking lots on my NT - but obviously it is not an ideal beginners bike. Found this GS500 - which I've always heard was an ideal starter bike - and we're probably going to look at it in the next few days. But since I am no expert nor mechanic I was hoping to get some feedback from others. Does it look like a decent deal? Any advice or wisom or insight? It's a 1995 GS500 with 14K miles and looks to be in good condition for $1400. Kelley Blue Book says an excellent condition model retail would be $1210 - but would also have much more miles on it. Here are the ads.

http://greensboro.craigslist.org/mcy/3086972967.html

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1zz4xq8mlHo&sns=em

Phil Tarman

Site Supporter
Bike
2010 Silver NT700VA (ABS)
I tried to look at the ad but it has been tagged for removal and I couldn't get it to come up.

I know nothing about these bikes, but they're much closer to the size that seems to make sense as a beginner bike.

stupidmonkey

GS500 has been around for a long time. Won't have troubles finding parts if she happens to dump it. I compare it to my EX500 ninja, only I believe it has 5 gears instead of the ninja's 6 and air cooled instead of liquid. That bike would be next in line for a beginner bike if you are not going the 250cc route. Easy to handle, light, and shouldn't have any balancing issues with it.

stupidmonkey

I'd also see if you could get him to go down to $1200 and have a mechanic take a look before you buy because you just never know. Needing new tires, parts, etc should also be factored in.

OP
OP
nuron
Bike
2010 Silver NT700