New FJR

Bike
2013 FJR 1300
I have the "throttle by wire" feature on my Tri-Glide and it is not even noticeable when riding. One big advantage of the "throttle-by wire" is less cables to adjust, lube, and generally mess with...and it makes the Cruise Control a clean install as well. The rats chewing wiring are another issue...maybe a terrier or cat "option" for the garage would help...:D
Yep. Agreed. I just have to warm up to it. After all, I've been driving a Prius for the last 5 years and one entrusts almost everything about the control of the vehicle to the computers based on input sent to the electronics from the accelerator, brake, drive mode control and steering wheel. As long as the kill switch on the bike is a real kill switch I'm good.

And cable-based systems can give you scary moments as well. I've had those hang up when a single strand wore out and snapped, producing a kind of latching behavior in the cable. In the case of throttle linkage, any of the single-cable systems are vulnerable to this. On bikes, I don't think anyone uses single-cable throttle linkage any more.

The vermin deal is real. I've had them dine on the plastic in the engine compartments of my Camry and Subaru (neither of which I have any longer). But even the direct-linkage systems can have a problem with this. My wife barely got the Subaru stopped in time one day because squirrels were in the process of building a nest and left some twigs where they fell down in the throttle linkage while she was driving, preventing it from dropping off a cruise power setting.

RedLdr1

Site Supporter
The vermin deal is real.