New member intro

Randall-in-Mpls

New Deauville owner!
Bike
2010 NT700V, 1978 CX500
Hi, all. I'm Randall, a long-time CX500 owner. I had the chance to ride a Deauville last summer, and I was very impressed.
Now, I've got my eye on one. Are there any model-specific deal breakers I should be on the lookout for? I've got decent mechanical skills, but mostly with the CX500 and Silverwings.

Thanks.

Phil Tarman

Site Supporter
Bike
2010 Silver NT700VA (ABS)
Hi, Randall! Welcome to one of the best forums anywhere. We got started back in the early teens and are still (sorta') flourishing because of our connection made through one of the best motorcycles anywhere.

I started riding in '97 and bought my first bike in '98. It was an '83 GL650i, the trusty Silverwing. After riding it for a year and 19K miles, I bought my 1st '99 Kawasaki Concours. I rode two of those 165K miles before buying my 1st '10 NT700V. I rode it 139K miles before trading it for one that was 16 serial numbers older but only had 22K miles on it.

AFAIK, the only differences in the '10s and the '11s (the only two model years imported to the US) are color and the existence of non-ABS '10 models.

The only major trouble I had with my 1st one was two total rebuilds of the final drive, both caused by the failure of two Honda techs to lube the splines when replacing rear tires. I also had a fuel pump failure at about 120K miles.

Good luck on getting a good one. If you do a member search for Minnesota, you can see all the members we've had in the state. Quite a few of them are no longer active, but some are. You might connect with one of them to take a look at the bike you've got in mind.

OP
OP
Randall-in-Mpls

Randall-in-Mpls

New Deauville owner!
Bike
2010 NT700V, 1978 CX500
My second rider is a GL650I. I'll probably sell that if I get a Deauville, since they fill the same niche.
I do my own tires and there's Honda Moly60 Paste in the cabinet. No concerns about spline maintenance.