New to NT700 -- Surprised About This Characteristic

Bike
2010 Silver NT700
Hey All,

I'm very new to the NT700 (have only ridden about 150 miles on mine), but not new to riding.

I have many good things to say about the bike so far, but there is one glaring characteristic about it that has really surprised me, and that is it's personality above 60mph. I know that it's no inline 4, but I really thought that as a touring bike, it would be more relaxed at freeway speeds. Seems like a 6th speed would cure this, perhaps?

Maybe I'm re-stating what's been said over and over again here, or maybe I'm being overly critical, but would love to know other's thoughts about this. FYI, my bike has just under 11,000 miles on it.

Phil Tarman

Site Supporter
Bike
2010 Silver NT700VA (ABS)
If you need to accelerate from 60 (or 70) with more vigor, just shift into 4th. I've cruised at 85-90 with no issues.

Bike
‘10 NT700VA ‘10 HD Trike
Hey All,

I'm very new to the NT700 (have only ridden about 150 miles on mine), but not new to riding.

I have many good things to say about the bike so far, but there is one glaring characteristic about it that has really surprised me, and that is it's personality above 60mph. I know that it's no inline 4, but I really thought that as a touring bike, it would be more relaxed at freeway speeds. Seems like a 6th speed would cure this, perhaps?

Maybe I'm re-stating what's been said over and over again here, or maybe I'm being overly critical, but would love to know other's thoughts about this. FYI, my bike has just under 11,000 miles on it.
I too had questions about the 6 gear, but I learned that this engine just likes to rev! I was holding back in fear of putting a piston through the head. But I just went with it, and I’m liking it! So what, you keep your speed down on the freeways. But feel free to let loose. It’s a very capable engine…oh and even riding the tach it still doesn’t affect gas mileage.

Bike
2010 Red NT700V