Suspension Sag

SeattleJim

Has anyone (Elzilla?!) gone through the trouble of precisely setting the static sag of their NT700 suspension? (Something like setting it to 25-30% of suspension travel -- I'm still learning.)

I've never paid much attention to discussions of suspension sag believing it's only important to sport and motocross bikes. In the past I've adjusted the preload to what felt good and forgot about it. The NT700 manual's recommendation for me (170lbs) is too, too harsh so I backed it way off.

Is it worth adjusting sag on a bike like the NT? To be kind it doesn't have the best suspension system and I know I'd have to use spacers in the front if I wanted to adjust the forks. But it might be interesting to see where it is.

elizilla

It's good to adjust sag but it's hard to do alone. I haven't done it lately.

oldyaler

Adjusting sag on ANY motorcycle is worth the time and effort. Play around with the preload to find a setting that gives you a smooth controlled ride. Then if you carry a passenger you can go up 1 or 2(or more) clicks to compensate for the extra weight.

karl

Site Supporter
Bike
2010 Silver NT700VAA
Is the adjustment on our bikes actually changing ride height. Moving the spring seat. or is it firming up the compression stroke valving of the shock?

oldyaler

Is the adjustment on our bikes actually changing ride height. Moving the spring seat. or is it firming up the compression stroke valving of the shock?
Actually, increasing preload makes the coil spring act like a stiffer spring. I'm not sure if there would be a difference in seat height.

karl

Site Supporter
Bike
2010 Silver NT700VAA
Actually, increasing preload makes the coil spring act like a stiffer spring. I'm not sure if there would be a difference in seat height.
Unless it is moving the seat with oil it would seem so. It does change the way it behaves.

DirtFlier

Site Supporter
Bike
2010 Silver NT700V/ABS