Tire pressure change

Coyote Chris

Site Supporter
Bike
10 Red NT 14 FJR, 17 XT
I am curious as to what you all think a detectable tire pressure change is for the common good rider. Not a road racer....US...you and me. Specifically, how much would the tire pressure have to drop before you would say to yourself, somethings not right here....
2 lbs? 4 lb? 6 lbs? 8 lbs. NOne of the above.

I will save my opinions on David Moss.

Phil Tarman

Site Supporter
Bike
2010 Silver NT700VA (ABS)
I'm guessing it would be over 10 pounds before I'd notice. Maybe more than that.

Bike
Black 2009 NT700
I may be more sensitive, as a mechanic, than most but I can feel a difference in steering and or handling with a drop of 3 or 4 psi.
I have been using a TPMS for 3 or 4 years now and would not be without one on any vehicle that I own.
Using it (the TPMS) is an education really.
It is surprising how quickly the tyre pressure and temperature, particularly the rear, rise in hot weather.
With the rear starting out at 41psi at 15C ambient, I have seen over 55psi and over 50C tyre temperature at 40+C ambient.

Macka

silshooter

Site Supporter
Bike
2010 Silver NT700
Working on the shops (1970's/80's), it was rare to find a bike with proper tire pressures.

Phil Tarman

Site Supporter
Bike
Since I got my current TPM, I've been like Macka -- amazed at how quickly pressures come up when I start moving. I've also been surprised that the front tire doesn't seem to heat up much (at least with the kind of riding I've done) at all. Sometimes it's just a little dab over ambient air temperature. The rear runs a few degrees hotter than the front. So far, I've seen rear tire pressure go up to 48-49psi after starting at 42.

Bike
2020 Kawasaki Versys
I would probably not notice tire pressure changes until about 8 psi or so. That probably depends on the type of riding I'm doing at the time (curves, straight).