Valve Guide Seals

Hello gang, I have a question that you may be able to answer. My 2010 NT now has a bit over 22,000 miles (25k sticker coming soon). When I start my bike I get a plume of white smoke from oil for about one to two seconds and it goes away. I have a client that is knowledgable about bikes and thinks it's my valve guide seals. I took my bike in for an oil change and asked the mechanic what he thought and again said it was probably the valve guide seals and not to worry about it unless I'm using more oil or the spark plugs are fouling. It seems to run fine regardless. The mechanic said that this 'failure' was common on some of the older Gold Wings and not a big deal. Has anyone else has this issue? I'm not a mechanic of any sort and would have to have the mechanic do the repairs. Any guess of what this might cost to fix at a shop?

Terry

docta

At your next oil change, you might want to try one of oils formulated for high mileage cars....as long is is not labeled energy conserving......it contains additives that cause seals to swell slightly and often will stop minor oil leaks......has worked for me.....
Always ride safely and keep your airspeed under control.

TW

DirtFlier

Site Supporter
Bike
2010 Silver NT700V/ABS
The minor bit of smoking would have to get pretty bad to justify replacing the valve seals.

Woodaddict

Site Supporter
2024 Mileage
Bike
Red NT700V & Spyder RTL
isn't white smoke from "water or coolant" and gray or black smoke from oil? could there be condensation in muffler burning off?

Bike
Black 2009 NT700