which Conti tires should I buy?

Phil Tarman

Site Supporter
Bike
2010 Silver NT700VA (ABS)
My personal favorite source of "objective" comparison data is the British motorcycle magazine "Bike." They rate tires and say that the Bridgestone BT-023 is their "favorite all-around sports tourer. Good handling, ride quality, and grip levels." 4 stars.

Dunlop Roadsmart is also a four star tire that has been replaced (although it's still available) by the Dunlop Roadsmart II. Both are 4 star tires.

The Michelin Pilot Road 3 ("sensational (kneedown) in the wet, very good in the dry with easy handling character. 4 stars.

Colntinental Road Attack 2: "a softer, sportier, replacement for the Road attack. Good griplevels, but the softer carcass means faster wear than the original." 3 stars.

There may be tires that they aren't rating. I have no experience with Continental except on my wife's Nissan Altima where they have impressed me with their grip and their longevity, and on bicycles, where they were my favorite road bike tire.

Bear

Bike
2010 NT-700 V Red
I'll go with the Bridgestone 023--seem most popular with NT. I do wish that MAXXIS still made MC Tyres. They still make bicycle tyres which I use exclusively.

Bike
1984 Moto Guzzi T5
Tire age lifetime is accepted to be 7 years. I wear out a set in a couple of years. So if the discounted tires are 4yrs old I'd buy them. If they are 6yrs old I'd pass. But, that is me.

If a set lasts you longer, then look for newer tires.

Bike
Silver NT700V
So far my tire life seems to be six months or 12,000 miles, whichever comes first. Replacements are BT023s which seem to holding and performing well.

OP
OP
I'm not too worried about the age of the tires. They come directly from the distributor and the Road Attack 2s have only been out for about a year in the USA. This is an employee discount, not some shady back-door deal.