Won't shift to neutral?

• Thread starter ChikinsR4dinner
  • Start date

ChikinsR4dinner

Hi everyone! As you may recall, the nt is my first bike ever, and while I am not a complete mechanical idiot, I have not undertaken an in depth knowledge on how everything works outside of oil changes and fluid changes, etc

The bike has just about 1k miles on it. The following 'symptoms' are in order of discovery and may or may not be related...

- bike does not roll easily. Noticed by my brother when he borrowed the bike while his BMW was in the shop
- bike when cold and not ridden for 2 weeks (I am on the road for work all the time) could not be pushed off the dolly with clutch disengaged with handle. Had to move bike to neutral and it rolled off fine
- bike lurches forward when started in first with clutch disengaged
- yesterday, can't get bike to go to neutral when it is running...will switch fine if the engine is off.

It's going to make the 2 hour trip to the dealership as soon as I know when I'll be back in town again, but was wondering if anyone had thoughts on whether this is all related, if you've seen it before, or if this is somehow normal and I am over reacting....

DirtFlier

Site Supporter
Bike
2010 Silver NT700V/ABS
Check the clutch lever freeplay at the handgrip. It should be 10-20 mm, measured at the ball end.

And by the way, it's fairly normal for there to be some resistance to pushing a bike in gear with the clutch lever pulled in. The only time I ever do that is when rolling my bike off the lift because I can use the clutch lever as a rear brake.

mikesim

Site Supporter
Bike
NT700, Red, #989,
Sounds like the clutch is not releasing fully when the lever is squeezed. Check the freeplay as an earlier poster indicated. A very slight "lurch" forward when engaging first gear is not abnormal and is more pronounced when the engine is cold.

Mike

Bike
2020 Kawasaki Versys
I agree with above to check clutch adjustment.